• Haralobos Voulgaris in for One Drop

    June 19, 2012
    The lineup for the unprecedented $1,000,000 buy-in tournament taking place at the 2012 World Series of Poker is starting to take shape and the roster is nearly complete as it approaches the 48-player cap, but there were a few minor tweaks this past week, including the loss of one of poker’s most entertaining figures and the addition of one of the greatest gamblers in the world as a replacement for a satellite winner.

    Tony G drops out, forfeits $100k deposit

    Last week Tony G announced via PokerNews.com that he would not be playing in the Big One for One Drop tournament as he has a scheduling conflict. So what kind of scheduling conflict could be more important than playing in the greatest poker tournament ever held, and forfeiting your $100,000 deposit in the process? Well, it appears Tony G (yes Tony G) is the Manager of the Lithuanian Men’s Basketball Team!

    Tony will be with the squad as they play in Houston and then on to South America for qualifying games.

    Haralobos Voulgaris in for Carlos Nahas

    According to ptprpoker.com, big-time sports-bettor Haralbos Voulgaris has purchased the seat won by Carlos Nahas in the $25k buy-in satellite held by Le Grand Tournoi de Poker Loto-Quebec. Nahas wasn’t even the original participant in the satellite event as a friend won his way into the tournament via a slot machine and handed the ticket off to his poker playing friend. Now the duo have parlayed a lucky pull of the slots into what is likely a hefty lump sum for the entry, plus a piece of one of the better players in the field in Bob Voulgaris.
    Current Roster

    Here is a look at the current roster for the Big One for One Drop tournament with the recent changes:

    1. Anonymous — U.S. Hedge Fund Manager

    2. Anonymous – U.S. venture capitalist

    3. Anonymous – European hedge fund manager

    4. Anonymous – U.S. hedge fund manager

    5. John Morgan — CEO, Winmark Corporation

    6. Guy Laliberté

    7. Phil Ruffin

    8. Cary Katz

    9. Paul Newey

    10. Richard Yong

    11. Andy Beal

    12. Arnaud Mimran

    13. Frédéric Banjout

    14. Bob Bright

    15. Paul Phua

    16. Roger Teska

    17. Eugene Katchalov

    18. Jens Kyllönen

    19. Jason Mercier

    20. David Peat

    21. Vivek Rajkumar

    22. Andrew Robl

    23. Nick Schulman

    24. Noah Schwartz

    25. Sam Trickett

    26. Erik Seidel

    27. Bobby Baldwin

    28. Patrik Antonius

    29. Gus Hansen

    30. Daniel Negreanu

    31. Johnny Chan

    32. Tom Dwan

    33. Jonathan Duhamel

    34. Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier

    35. Daniel Shak

    36. Justin Smith

    37. Giovanni “Malibu” Guarascio

    38. Haralobos Voulgaris via Carlos Nahas

    39. MGM Mirage satellite seat

    40. Caesars Entertainment seat

    41. Caesars Entertainment via June 30 $25,300 satellite at Rio

    Other potential entrants (at somewhere between 50% likely to 99% likely to play) include Jean-Robert Bellande, Mike Sexton, Phil Hellmuth, and Ben Lamb.

  • Want to give your opinion?

    Click here to login. No account? Sign up!