• Event #36 Final Table Kicks Off Today

    June 21, 2012 5:15pm EST
    The field of sixty that returned for Day 2 has been reduced to the
    final ten. Today those ten players will compete for the title of World
    Series of Poker champion. Along with the shiny gold bracelet that
    will adorn the winner’s wrist, a paycheck of $368,593 will also go to
    the winner.
    Yesterday’s play saw many professional players and notable names
    hit the rail in an attempt to be where the final ten are right now.
    Melanie Weisner, Ryan D’Angelo, Mickey Petersen, Jason Koon,
    Steve Billarakis, Justin Bonomo, and Jean-Robert Bellande were just
    some of the names that were able to score a min-cash but unable
    to make the final day.
    Headlining today’s final table is Antonio “The Magician” Esfandiari
    who will begin with a slight advantage in chips. Esfandiari won his first and only bracelet in 2004 in a $2,000 Pot
    Limit Hold’em event and will be searching for number two today.
    Esfandiari isn’t the only bracelet winner in today’s field, however, as Athanasios Polychronopoulos will be in the
    hunt as well. Polychronopoulos won his first bracelet at the 2011 WSOP in Event #48: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em
    and will be looking to go back-to-back this year with another win.
    Today we will be covering all of the action occurring on the ESPN stage in the Amazon room. History occurred in
    this very spot yesterday when Chris Tryba was able to earn his first bracelet in Event 35: $2,500 Mixed Hold’em.
    Cards will be in the air at 1:00 PM today so be sure to stay tuned as we crown yet another WSOP champion.
    Final Table Seat Draw
    Seat Player Chip Count
    1 Antonio Esfandiari 538,000
    2 Joe Tehan 529,000
    3 Jeremiah Fitzpatrick 539,000
    4 Athanasios Polychronopoulos 528,000
    5 Alessandro Longobardi 512,000
    6 Jonathan Lane 509,000
    7 Sardor Gaziev 527,000
    8 Craig Mccorkell 539,000
    9 Roberto Romanello 530,000
    10 Thiago Nishijima 510,000

  • Want to give your opinion?

    Click here to login. No account? Sign up!