• Congratulations to Dung Nguyen, Winner of Event 38: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em ($607,200)

    June 23, 2012
    Congratulations to Dung Nguyen, Winner of Event 38: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em ($607,200)
    After a long and exciting day of poker, Dung Nguyen has been crowned the
    champion of Event 38: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em. Nguyen overcame a field of
    2,502 players to take home all the glory, the $607,200 first-place prize and of
    course, the World Series of Poker gold bracelet.
    When the play began today, there were 21 players still in contention to take it all
    down. However, for the final table to be set, 12 players had to fall by the wayside.
    Jia Liu was the first player to do just that, hitting the rail in 21st place. Next to go
    were Bastian Fischer (20th), Jason Lester (19th), Jesse Wilke (18th) and Michael
    Borovetz (17th).
    Blake Cahail was still in contention at this point but would end up hitting the rail
    in 16th place when he had short stack all-in against Tyler
    Patterson . No help came for Cahail and he was sent home. Mihails
    Morosovs was eliminated in 15th place just a short while later and then Marcus
    Gurley (14th), Miguel Proulx (13th) and Ricky Crandell (12th) joined him on the
    When Matthew Pierce started the day, he had one of the largest chip stacks in the
    room. It didn’t stay that way though as he busted in 11th place, bringing us to
    our “unofficial” final table. At this point it was Dung Nguyen who lead the way,
    while Scott Clements was the short stack. He was so short in fact, that it didn’t take long for him to get his stack
    The last hand of Clement’s tournament saw him all-in preflop . Unfortunately he ran into the
    KK of Theo Tran and when no help came for Clements, it was all over in 10th place. Here’s how the final nine
    stacked up.
    Final Table Lineup
    Seat Player Chips
    1 Dung Nguyen 3,270,000
    2 Kristijonas Andrulis 1,295,000
    3 Theo Tran 1,910,000
    4 Blair Hinkle 325,000
    5 Zachary Korik 580,000
    6 Tyler Patterson 400,000
    7 Jeffrey Manza 1,735,000
    8 David Pham 1,035,000
    9 Bahman Jahanguiri 870,000

  • Want to give your opinion?

    Click here to login. No account? Sign up!