• The Stars Shine at the British Poker Awards

    Sept 18, 2012
    It was a good night for Sam Trickett, PokerStars and DTD at the British Poker Awards, with the three being connected with 10 of the 17 awards distributed.

    The glittering event that is the British Poker Awards was hosted last night aboard HMS President at London´s Embankment as a prelude to the English Poker Open which starts today at the Fox Poker Club on London´s Shaftesbury Avenue. As widely predicted (by PokerNewsReport at least) Sam Trickett picked up three awards for Best Cash Player, Best Tournament Player and Player of the Year, but the involvement of PokerStars in British Poker was probably the stand-out feature of the evening.

    PokerStars´ sponsored pros Liv Boeree and Vanessa Selbst captured the plaques for Poker Personality of the Year and International Player of the Year respectively, while Kirsty Thompson was acknowledged as the person who had contributed most to promoting poker in the UK courtesy of the UKIPT and her “baby” – the UKIPT Nottingham at Dusk till Dawn – won Best UK Tournament. PokerStars had one more prize to come – that of Best Tournament Director which was awarded to Toby Stone for his work on the EPT and UKIPT events.

    Dusk till Dawn got in on the act by winning Best Card Room and Best Card Room Manager (Simon Trumper), while the bar at the Palm Beach Club and the restaurant at the Grosvenor Victoria Casino picked up awards for their beverage services. Chris Moorman (Best Online Player), Neil Channing (Best Blogger / Social Media) and Craig McCorkill (Breakthrough Player of the Year) were the other individuals to win awards as the Champions Poker League picked up the title of Best Poker League and the Hendon Mob triumphed in the race for Best Poker Forum.

    Congratulations to all the winners!
    Category Voted for by Winner
    Best Cash Player Public Sam Trickett
    Best Tournament Player Public Sam Trickett
    Best Online Player Public Chris Moorman
    Best Poker League Public Champions Poker League
    Best Poker Forum Public The Hendon Mob
    Best UK Tournament Public UKIPT Nottingham
    Best Blogger/Social Media User Public Neil Channing
    Best Card Room Bar Public Palm Beach, London
    Best Card Room Restaurant Public Grosvenor Victoria, London
    Biggest Contribution to Promoting Poker Public Kirsty Thompson UKIPT
    Player of the Year Judges Panel Sam Trickett
    Best International Player Judges Panel V anessa Selbst
    Breakthrough Player of the Year Judges Panel Craig McCorkill
    Poker Personality of the Year Public Liv Boeree
    Best Tournament Director Player´s Choice Toby Stone
    Best Card Room Manager Player´s Choice Simon Trumper (DTD)
    Best Card Room Player´s Choice Dusk till Dawn

  • Want to give your opinion?

    Click here to login. No account? Sign up!